world : The new constituencies in Wales and why they are changing

world : The new constituencies in Wales and why they are changing
world : The new constituencies in Wales and why they are changing

Monday 1 July 2024 10:30 PM

Nafeza 2 world - First up - what is a constituency?

Wales is represented in two parliaments - one in Cardiff and one in Westminster.

In Westminster, Members of Parliament (MPs) hold seats which represent constituencies.

These are areas of the country which have defined boundaries, which have been decided by impartial boundary commissions.

What are the new constituencies in Wales?
  • Aberafan Maesteg

Aberafan is being merged with Maesteg, to form the Aberafan Maesteg seat.

  • Alyn and Deeside

A constituency will still exist called Alyn and Deeside, including the whole of the existing consistency, but with added wards from Delyn, including Flint and Bagillt.

  • Bangor Aberconwy

Part of Arfon, including wards that cover the city of Bangor, and some areas in Clwyd West such as Llansannan, will merge with Aberconwy to form Bangor Aberconwy.

Blaenau Gwent will be extended to cover areas in the Rhymney valley.

The rural seat of Brecon and Radnorshire is being expanded to parts of the existing Neath constituency, in the Swansea Valley, including Ystalyfera and Pontardawe. The new seat will be called Brecon, Radnor and Cwm-Tawe.

Porthcawl and Pencoed will now be included in the constituency of Bridgend.

  • Caerfyrddin

The new seat of Caerfyrddin covers all of northern Carmarthenshire, including the town of Carmarthen.

  • Caerphilly

A seat called Caerphilly will remain with revised boundaries, including a small part of the Islwyn constituency.

  • Cardiff East

The existing seat of Cardiff Central will be scrapped.

A new seat called Cardiff East will include part of the old constituency, as well as some parts of Cardiff South and Penarth.

  • Cardiff North

Cardiff North will retain its name but gain the ward of Taffs Well.

The new Cardiff South and Penarth seat will extend all the way from Penarth to Cathays, and will also include Dinas Powys for the first time.

  • Cardiff West

A Cardiff West seat will remain. It will gain a number of wards from Pontyclun, Rhondda Cynon Taf.

  • Ceredigion Preseli

Ceredigion will be extended out west to include parts of Fishguard, in a seat called Ceredigion Preseli.

  • Clwyd East

The boundaries of Delyn, Clwyd West, Clwyd South and Vale of Clwyd vanish in the new map.

Much of the Delyn constituency, including Mold, Gronant and New Brighton, will form the new Clwyd East.

The new seat will also include Prestatyn from Vale of Clwyd, Llangollen from Clwyd South and Ruthin from Clwyd West.

  • Clwyd North

Rhyl, Bodelwyddan, Denbigh and St Asaph from Vale of Clwyd will be joined together with parts of Clwyd West - including Colwyn and Towyn - to form Clwyd North.

  • Dwyfor Meirionnydd

The constituency of Arfon will cease to exist. Parts of it, including Caernarfon and Llanberis, will join Dwyfor Meirionnydd.

The Gower constituency will include all but one of the council wards from the existing seat of the same name, plus five wards from the existing Swansea West seat, including Killay.

The town of Llanelli will still have a seat named after it, including four wards from Carmarthen East and Dinefwr.

As the name suggests, Merthyr Tydfil and Aberdare will include both of the towns.

The Cynon Valley constituency will disappear, split between Merthyr Tydfil and Aberdare, and Pontypridd.

The two existing Pembrokeshire constituencies will be scrapped. A new seat, called Mid and South Pembrokeshire, will cover Milford Haven, Pembroke Dock, Tenby and Haverfordwest.

  • Monmouthshire

Monmouth will be renamed Monmouthshire with more of the Severnside area added, including the town of Caldicot.

Montgomeryshire will be combined with council wards from parts of Clwyd South, including Chirk North and South, and Penycae, to form Montgomeryshire and Glyndŵr.

  • Neath and Swansea East

Neath and Swansea East will include most of the existing seat of Neath and three wards from Swansea East, including Llansamlet.

  • Newport East

Newport will still have a Newport East constituency, although it will incorporate parts of what is currently in Newport West, including Caerleon and Pillgwenlly.

  • Newport West and Islwyn

Much of the old Newport West will be incorporated into Newport West and Islwyn, which will include the valley to the north of the city, up to Blackwood.

  • Pontypridd

The new Pontypridd seat will include much of the old one, including the town itself and Talbot Green, as well as three wards from the current Ogmore seat including Llanharan, and parts of the former Cynon Valley seat including Abercynon and Mountain Ash.

  • Rhondda and Ogmore

The Rhondda seat and part of the old Ogmore constituency are being merged into a single area.

  • Swansea West

The old Swansea West is formed from what is left of Swansea West - Castle, Sketty, Townhill and Uplands - and parts of Swansea East.

A slightly-expanded constituency called Torfaen will remain, including parts of Cwmbran that were in Monmouth previously.

  • Vale of Glamorgan

An amended Vale of Glamorgan seat will still exist, but without the Dinas Powys ward, which will become part of Cardiff South and Penarth.

Wrexham will be expanded to take more of the council area, including New Broughton and Overton.

Because of its protected status Ynys Môn - which covers Anglesey - will remain a standalone constituency.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

PREV world : Bus driver's 55 years, with no plans to retire
NEXT world : Union calls off Port Talbot steel workers' strike